On 1 April 2020, NorthTec become part of the New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology (NZIST). This new organisation was formed as part of the Government’s Reform of Vocational Education (RoVE) and brings together all 16 Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics (ITPs) across the country.

The NZIST - formed through legislation introduced by Education Minister Chris Hipkins - is now the parent company for the ITPs, which have become wholly-owned subsidiaries of this organisation. This brings all ITPs together into a collaborative model.

Under the new NZIST structure, NorthTec is now a limited liability company with a new legal name, Northland Polytechnic Limited. There is no change to our trading name for the time being and we will continue to be known as NorthTec (Tai Tokerau Wānanga) and our brand, logo and marketing materials will not change at this stage.

The previous NorthTec governing Council has been replaced by a new Board, with members appointed by the NZIST. The new Board had its first meeting on 3 April – a historic occasion and held by Zoom due to the pandemic lockdown.

NZIST Governing Council

Murray Strong, Interim Executive Director of the IST Establishment Unit and our current Commissioner, has been appointed to Chair of the new governing council of the NZIST. Read the full announcement of the governing council members on the New Zealand Government website.

Cross-Board Council members

To further drive the shift from competition to operating as one regionally accessible network of provision, the Establishment Board has announced that one NZIST Council member would be a director on each subsidiary ITP board, and that boards may also receive a ‘cross-board appointee’.

  • Kim Ngārimu (Deputy Chair, NZIST Council) will join the NorthTec Board.
  • Ripeka Evans (Chair, NorthTec Board) will also sit on the board of Toi Ohomai Ltd as Deputy Chair.
  • Murray Bain (Deputy Chair, NorthTec Board) will also sit on the boards of Ara Institute of Canterbury and Southern Institute of Technology.

NZIST Charter

Together with the NZIST, NorthTec must give effect to the NZIST Charter set out in the Education Act.​ View the Charter here.


Members of the public are entitled to attend board meetings and meetings of the Academic Committee and Academic Committee Sub-Committees subject to section 48 of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 (LGOIMA).  The meeting agenda and associated reports (if any) will be available at least two working days before the meeting on request by emailing

Upcoming meeting dates:

  • Tuesday 25 August 2020
  • Monday 21 September 2020
  • Tuesday 20 October 2020
  • Wednesday 25 November 2020
  • Monday 21 December 2020

NorthTec Subsidiary Board of Directors

Ripeka Evans

Ripeka Evans


Ripeka (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Porou, Te Aupōuri, Ngāti Kahu) has been a director, Chair, Chief Executive and strategic adviser. Based in Wellington, she is a consultant specialising in Treaty partnerships and Māori economic development.

Ripeka began her career with the Māori Economic Development Commission and then Television New Zealand. She has held Chief Executive roles with Te Māngai Paho, Toi Eastern Bay of Plenty Economic Development Agency as well as director and trustee roles with Te Aupōuri Fisheries Limited and Te Rūnanganui o Te Aupōuri. She is a member of the Te Ao Māori Strategy Committee of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand.

Murray Bain

Murray Bain

Deputy Chair

Murray is a Northland-based company director involved across a range of sectors. He is Deputy Chair of TSB Bank and Chair of TAS, a DHB shared services company. He has previously filled a wide range of director roles including Chair of the Open Polytechnic.

He has previously been the CEO of the Ministry of Science and Innovation, CEO of the Foundation for Research, Science and Technology, Assistant Governor in the RBNZ, Chief Operating Officer with ACC and Head of Banking for Trust Bank NZ.

Murray is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors and holds a Masters in Commerce (Economics) from Canterbury University.

Nicole Anderson

Nicole Anderson

DipAcc, DipBus, DipMgt, PGDPH, CMInstD

Nicole (Ngāpuhi) is a director with a background in accountancy, health and business development. She has primarily worked with organisations advancing Māori, as well as public and private organisations focusing on policy, economic development and governance.

A chartered member of the Institute of Directors, Nicole is currently a Director of Northland Inc, Fluid Chemicals Ltd, PHARMAC and Manea Footprints of Kupe Ltd. She is a Trustee of Te Runanga A Iwi O Ngāpuhi and a member of the NZ Conservation Authority and Northland District Health Board.

Nicole is a past member of the AUT University Council and Chair of the Council’s Maori Education Working Group.

Erena Kara

Erena Kara

Ko Huruiki te maunga Ko Waiariki te awa
Ko Ngataokimatawhaorua te waka Ko Whakapara te marae
Ko Ngāti Hau me Ngāti Hao ngā hapū Ko Ngāpuhi te iwi

Erena comes from a background of community and iwi development, and holds a Masters in Social Science. She has worked in various roles to support the health and wellbeing of community, including iwi, Māori provider and government agencies.

Erena has held various governance positions including Ngāpuhi Asset Holding Company and Ngāpuhi Iwi Social Services. She currently serves as the Chair of Te Kotahitanga E Mahi Kaha Trust, a Trustee for Te Kura Kaupapa Māori O Kaikohe, and Trustee for the Community Research Centre.

Matt Keene

Matt Keene

Matt was born and grew up in Whangārei. After completing a Bachelor of Management Studies from the University of Waikato he worked in the UK and Europe in finance and the telecommunications industry. He has 25 years’ experience in the IT sector and is co-director of a Whangārei-based software development company. Matt currently has governance roles on several not-for-profit boards in the arts, environment and education sectors.

Bronwyn Yates

Bronwyn Yates

Ko Te Arawa, Horouta, Takitimu, me Tainui ngā waka.

Bronwyn has long experience of governance and senior executive roles. She sits as governance on NorthTec Tai Tokerau Wānanga Council and the Māori Education Trust. Brownyn fulfils roles in both standing and ad hoc government advisory groups and whakaruruhau. She is Te Tumuaki (CEO) of Literacy Aotearoa Charitable Trust, and maintains professional development for management and governance roles.

Bronwyn has a passion for excellence of education for all and sees opportunities to fulfil the promise made by NorthTec Tai Tokerau Wanangā, to enable better lives through education.​

Kim Ngārimu

Kim Ngārimu

Cross-Board Appointee (NZIST Council)

Kim Ngārimu, Te Aitanga ā Mate, Ngāti Porou, has been Deputy Chair of the IST Establishment Board since August 2019. Based in Gisborne, Ms Ngārimu is a director of Tāua Limited, a consultancy specialising in public policy and management advice. Earlier in her career, Ms Ngārimu held a range of senior public sector roles in Wellington. She is a member of the Medical Council of New Zealand and the Waitangi Tribunal, Chair of Tairāwhiti District Health Board, and a council-appointed member of the Eastern Institute of Technology since 2017.